TEAM LIST: NSW Waratahs v Western Force

Wed, May 15, 2024, 3:55 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Captain Jake Gordon will celebrate his 100th game for NSW on Saturday.
Captain Jake Gordon will celebrate his 100th game for NSW on Saturday.

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Western Force in Round 13 of the Super Rugby Pacific this Saturday at 7:35pm AEST at HBF Park.

The injury gods have again been unkind to NSW, forcing Head Coach Darren Coleman to shuffle the cards once more at the selection table.

Last week, the Waratahs lost experienced props Hayden Thompson-Stringer and Harry Johnson-Holmes to season-ending injuries.

Fortunately for NSW, the club has acquired the services of Enrique Pieretto from the Glasgow Warriors on a loan deal.

Despite arriving from Glasgow on Saturday, Pieretto is no stranger to the Super Rugby competition, after enjoying a successful spell with the Jaguares in his native Argentina.

The tighthead prop featured 17 times for the franchise on their run to the 2019 Super Rugby final, with New Zealand heavyweights Crusaders denying them a historic title.

The 29-year-old will line up in the front row alongside Jay Fonokalafi and Lewis Ponini, who has been promoted to the starting team.

On the reserves list, Ben Sugars retains his place after making his Super Rugby Pacific debut against the Brumbies, whilst George Thornton and Brad Amituanai round out the front-row rotation.

The backline remains the same for the Waratahs, with Joey Walton retaining his place at outside centre after a try-scoring return from injury. Izaia Perese has also been included on the reserves list at the expense of Harry Wilson.

NSW will be looking to celebrate Captain Jake Gordon’s 100th match for NSW on Saturday against a Force side coming off a resounding 48-10 victory over the Fijian Drua in Round 12.


1. Loosehead Prop

2. Hooker

3. Tighthead Prop

4. Left Lock

5. Right Lock

6. Left Flanker

7. Right Flanker

8. Number 8

9. Scrumhalf

10. Flyhalf

11. Left Wing

12. Inside Centre

13. Outside Centre

14. Right Wing

15. Fullback

16. Reserve

17. Reserve

18. Reserve

19. Reserve

20. Reserve

21. Reserve

22. Reserve

23. Reserve


Lewis Ponini (Eastern Suburbs)

Jay Fonokalafi (Gordon)

Enrique Peiretto (Glasgow Warriors)*

Fergus Lee-Warner (Eastern Suburbs)

Miles Amatosero (Eastern Suburbs)

Lachlan Swinton (Sydney University)

Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs)

Jed Holloway (Southern Districts)

Jake Gordon © (Sydney University)

Will Harrison (Randwick)

Dylan Pietsch (Randwick)

Lalakai Foketi (Manly)

Joey Walton (Gordon)

Triston Reilly (Randwick)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood)

Ben Sugars (Randwick)

George Thornton (Northern Suburbs)

Brad Amituanai (Sydney University)

Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs)

Langi Gleeson (Manly)

Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs)

Tane Edmed (Eastwood)

Izaia Perese (Randwick)

*denotes potential NSW Waratahs debut.

Players unavailable for selection:

  • David Porecki - Achillies (Season)
  • Thomas Lambert - Knee (Season)
  • Archer Holz - Shoulder (Season)
  • Mesu Kunavula – Knee (Season)
  • Ned Slack-Smith - Concussion (Season)
  • Daniel Botha - Achillies (Season)
  • Mahe Vailanu - Knee (Season)
  • Angus Bell - Toe (Season)
  • Theo Fourie - Foot (Season)
  • Ned Hanigan - Neck (TBC)
  • Tom Ross - Knee (15+)
  • Julian Heaven - Shoulder (Season)
  • Max Jorgensen - Hamstring (Season)
  • Teddy Wilson - Concussion Protocols (Rd 14+)
  • Hayden Thompson-Stringer - Knee (Season)
  • Harry Johnson-Holmes - Achillies (Season)

Match Details

Super Rugby Pacific - Round 13: NSW Waratahs v Western Force.

Saturday May 18 at HBF Park.

Kick-off 7:35pm AEST.

The match will be broadcast live and ad-free and Stan Sport.


© 2024 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network